Log in

Global WIL Charter

These renewed Charter Calls to Action were presented at the WACE World Conference hosted at the University of Waterloo in June 2023. 

1) Charter Calls to Action statement for supporters to sign

Show your Support for the Renewed Calls to Action

2) Charter Renewal for institutional representatives to sign

Sign the Renewed Global WIL Charter as the representatives for your institution

Individuals and Institutions that sign the renewed Charter Calls to Action will be recognized on the WACE website.

Global CWIE Charter Renewed Calls to Action: Signatories (as of December 21st, 2023):


African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS)


Calgary Economic Development

Concordia University

Dalhousie University

DHBW Heidenheim

BITs Pilani

Brock University

Centennial College

Charles Sturt University

Drexel University

École de Technologie Supérieure

Federation University

University of Alberta

University at Albany

University of British Columbia

University of Sherbrooke

University of Waikato

University of Wollongong

George Brown College

Georgian College

Kanagawa Institute of Technology

Langara College


McMaster University

Memorial University of NL

Oregon Institute of Technology

Prasetiya Mulya University

Siam University

Srinakharinwirot University

Sripatum University

The Jacobson Institute

University of New Brunswick

University of Toronto

University West

University of Europe

University of Limerick

University of Nottingham Malaysia

University of Waterloo

Walailak University


ACEN (Australia)

CEIA (United States)

CEWIL Canada (Canada)

WILNZ (New Zealand)

VILAR (Sweden)

TACE (Thailand)

THENSA (South Africa)

Japan Forum for WIL (Japan)

AUT (New Zealand)


Daisy Di

Gulsen Baysal

Leneque Wilson

Shakeel Ori

This Charter is an outcome of a global consultation regarding cooperative education and work-integrated education (CWIE) led by the World Association for Cooperative and Work-Integrated Education (WACE) and launched at the President’s Summit hosted at the University of Cincinnati in August 2019.

Global CWIE Charter: Inaugural Signatories

August 2019

Dr. Neville Pinto
University of Cincinnati, USA (host)

Dr. Norah McRae
Associate Provost, Co-operative and Experiential Education
University of Waterloo, Canada (largest program in NA)

Prof. Arnold  van Zyl
DHBW, Germany (largest program in Europe)

Dr. Elizabeth Elle
Associate Vice President, Teaching and Learning
Simon Fraser University, Canada

Dr. Timothy Rahilly
President and Vice-Chancellor
Mount Royal University , Canada

Dr. Wisdom Tettey
Vice President and Principal
University of Toronto Scarborough, Canada

Ms. Keiko Saito-Miyakawa
NPO Japan Forum for WIL

Dr. Satoshi Osawa
Kanazawa Institute of Technology, Japan

Dr. Marlin Marissa Malek
Director, Centre for University-Industry Collaboration
Centre for University-Industry Collaboration (CUIC),
Universiti Utara Malaysia, Malaysia

Ms. Nora Griselda Hernández
National Director of Career and Professional Development Center
Universidad Tecmilenio, Mexico

Dr. Paul Zevenbergen
Board Member
NVAO The Netherlands

Prof. Giselle Byrnes
Massey University, New Zealand

Prof. Robyn Longhurst
Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic
University of Waikato, New Zealand

Prof. Henk de Jager
Vice-Chancellor and Principal
Central University of Technology, Free State, South Africa

Dr. Atit Koonsrisuk
Director, Centre for Cooperative Education and Career Development
Suranaree University of Technology, Thailand

Dr. Charun Bunyakan
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Walailak University, Thailand

Dr. David Rogers
SUNY Morrisville, USA

Dr. Chutamas Satasook
Vice President for Academic Affairs
President Office
Prince of Songkla University, Thailand

Dr. Nagi Naganathan
Oregon Institute of Technology, USA

Dr. Patricia Sendall
Professor of Management
Merrimack College, USA

Mr. Ian Sladen
Vice President, Cooperative Education & Career Development
Drexel University, USA

Dr. Cassie Barlow
Southern Ohio Council for Higher Education, USA

Dr. Marisa Kelly
Suffolk University, USA

Dr. Monica Posey
Cincinnati State Technical and Community College, USA

Prof. Dr. Wichit Srisa-an
The University Council, Thailand

The following National Associations from around the world also signed on behalf of their memberships:

  • Australian Collaborative Education Network (ACEN)
  • Association for Sandwich Education and Training (ASET) – agreed but not present
  • Canadian Association for Work Integrated Learning (CEWIL)
  • New Zealand Association for Co-operative Education (NZACE)
  • Thai Association for Co-operative Education (TACE)
  • The Vilär Network (VILÄR Sweden)
  • Co-operative Education and Internships Association of the USA (CEIA)
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software